Structure and Management

Faculty Organisation

Faculty as a public institution intended for the higher education activities in the Republic of Croatia. It is organized in several structural units/departments.

The Dean, as the Head of Administration, represents and procures the Faculty through the Dean's Office.   The Dean's Office, Secretary's Office and Accounting and Finance Service ensure the proper functioning of the Faculty.  The members of the Dean's Office perform general and administrative tasks for the needs of the Faculty and of the Dean. The members of the Faculty Secretary’s Office perform expert, administrative, statistical, technical and auxiliary tasks, whereas the Accounting and Financial Service Staff carries out tasks related to accounting, bookkeeping and financial affairs.

The scientific and professional activities of the Faculty are held in the Institutes of the respective Departments.  The Departments prepare, unite and develop the educational, scientific and research work in the scientific fields or branches for which they have been established.  The Departments are divided into Institutes that constitute the educational, scientific and professional organisational unit.  Within the Institutes, Laboratories have been established for the purposes of teaching, research and practical work of the students.

Each Institute has its own representatives in the Faculty Council that, along with the Dean, represents the management bodies of the Faculty.  Dean, as the Head of the Faculty, reports to the Faculty Council on his work.  The Faculty Council is composed of the following representatives:

  • Dean of the Faculty by function
  • Four Vice Deans
  • 32 representatives of teachers elected to the scientific-teaching profession, 16 from each department
  • two representatives of assistants / novices - one from each department
  • Six students, three from each department

The Department of Forestry and the Department of Wood Technology establish department councils composed of all teachers and assistants/associates of the department as well as elected student representatives, chaired by the respective Vice Dean.  The Department Council considers any matter within its scope at the Council sessions and adopts proposals to the Faculty Council.
Apart from the management bodies and departments, the Faculty has organized permanent committees that monitor, advise and assist them in the performance of their duties.

  • Educational Quality Committee
  • Teacher Selection Committee
  • Student Affairs Committee
  • Publishing Committee
  • Promotion Committee


The Educational Quality Committee consists of: Vice Dean of the Department of Forestry and Vice Dean of the Department of Wood Technology and a student representative.
The Teacher Selection Committee consists of:four teachers of the scientific-educational profession as a full professor, two from each Department.
The Student Affairs Committee consists of:Vice Dean of the Department of Forestry and Vice Dean of the Department of Wood Technology, Secretary of the Faculty, Head of the Student Administration Office, student representatives.
The Publishing Committee consists of: Vice Deans of the Departments, publishing directors the of university journals: Glasnika za šumske pokuse (Herald of Forest Experiments), Drvne industrije (Wood Industries) and Croatian Journal of Forest Engineering.
The Promotion Committeepromotes and presents all the activities of the Faculty and is composed of four Vice Deans and other people elected by the Dean.

In the Faculty Organisation a special role has been assigned to the Student Administration Office and to the Forestry Library responsible for the daily contacts with students, ensuring, through their activities, some fundamental student rights referred to in the Statute of the Faculty of Forestry and Wood Technology.




FŠDT suorganizator i domaćin 1. seminara šumske pedagogije u Hrvatskoj

Na Fakultetu šumarstva i drvne tehnologije Sveučilišta u Zagrebu održan je 29. svibnja 1. seminar šumske pedagogije u organizaciji Centra za šumsku pedagogiju Silva.Rei iz Zagreba i pod pokroviteljstvom Ministarstva poljoprivrede Republike Hrvatske. Domaćin i suorganizator seminara bio je FŠDT, dok su partneri bili Hrvatska komora inženjera šumarstva i drvne tehnologije i Javna ustanova Park prirode Medvednica.


Erasmus+ stručna praksa 2024./25.

1. KRUG Natječaja za mobilnost studenata - Erasmus+ stručna praksa, akademska godina 2024./25.



 1st Announcement for conference GREEN2024

Poslijediplomski doktorski studij šumarstva i drvne tehnologije